League of Legends

“League of Legends” (commonly referred to as LoL) is the massive multiplayer Real-Time-Strategy game created by Riot Games. Currently the most popular video game in the world, League of Legends is able to boast over 1 billion hours of gameplay each month.

Costs and Currency

Although the game is free-to-play, there are in-game currencies that can be used to purchase Champions, Champion Skins, Runes, Rune Pages, Name Changes, Experience Boosts and other additional bundles. There are two currencies within the game interface (however, these are separate from the gold you get during actual gameplay): Riot Points (RP), and Influence Points (IP). The player starts with 0 Riot Points and 0 Influence Points, but can gain Influence Points by playing in matches. Riot Points, on the other hand, can be gained through a couple methods – the player receives 400 Riot Points when their summoner profile reaches level 3, and the player can also buy Riot Points with real-world currency either through the in-game store or in local convenience stores.

Summoner Profile

When the player (also known as “Summoner”) registers for League of Legends, they create a summoner profile. The profile contains all of the player’s game information, including what champions they have unlocked, what runes and masteries they have set, their summoner level, and their summoner rankings in the normal and ranked matches they have played. The summoner profile has a summoner level that begins at 1 and is capped at level 30. This level does not get reset after any games. The player can level their profile by gaining experience points after every match that they play (This is separate from the in-game experience that they earn for their champion).

Runes and Masteries

Players have the ability to purchase runes from the store within the game interface using Influence Points. Runes can be added to the summoner profile rune pages. They enhance your champions during each game that you play and are controlled outside of each game, through the summoner profile.

In addition, there are mastery pages, which also give bonuses to your champion. One mastery point is unlocked for every level of your summoner profile, allowing for a total of 30 mastery points to be places in the mastery tree when your summoner is level 30. There are three separate trees that the player can add mastery points to, and each tree is based around either offense, defense, or utility.


The games are played by either two teams of 5 or two teams of 3, depending on which map the game takes place on. There is one 3v3 map known as the Twisted Treeline, and three 5v5 maps known as Summoner’s Rift, the Crystal Scar, and The Proving Grounds. There are two game modes available for the players to choose from: Classic and Dominion.

In the classic game mode, each team fights for control over the map, attempting to destroy the opposing team’s defensive towers, inhibitors, and nexus. Once the nexus is destroyed, then the game is considered over and the players return to a post-game lobby. Classic games take between 20 to 50 minutes to complete.

In the dominion game mode, each team fights to control capture points. The longer the point is maintained, the more the nexus health decreases for the opposing team. Once the nexus health of either team reaches zero, their nexus is destroyed and the opposing team wins the game. Dominion games take between 15-35 minutes to complete. In addition, players have the option to create custom games in order to have friendly matches between friends or for other creative, player-made game modes.

Players are also able to play in ranked games individually or as a team in order to see where they stand among other League of Legends players.


In league of Legends, the summoner chooses the champion that they would like to play as while in a pregame lobby. Currently there are 111 “champions” available for the public to play as; however, new champions are released periodically. A selection of these champions is available for players to play as for free each week; in addition, players are able to purchase champions they like using Influence Points or Riot Points to unlock them.

Each champion has a set of abilities to aid them in their battles; some are used to damage enemy champions, while others are used to aid allied champions. There are melee based champions and ranged champions, and within both of those groups there are champions who output damage through physical damage and others who output magical damage through abilities that can be leveled up as the champion levels up.

The champions level throughout the game by getting experience from being around enemy champions and minions that are killed. The champion level starts at 1 and is capped at 18. The in-game champion level resets at the beginning of every game. As a champion levels, they become stronger – gaining increased health and damage, as well as points to increase the champion’s abilities.

Each champion has six item slots, which can be filled with items from the in-game shop. These items have various effects and can be purchased with the gold your champion earns throughout the game. These items are reset each game, similarly to the champion’s level.

Minions and Neutral Monsters

During the gameplay itself, there are minions and neutral monsters in addition to the champions. Minions are sent out in waves from the nexus, and are not controlled by the summoners. Neutral monsters spawn in the forest areas of the maps and can be killed for experience and gold.

In addition to the gold that the neutral monsters offer, there are also monsters that offer buffs that will affect the champion that kills them. These buffs can allow for the champions to use their abilities more often, add extra damage to the champion’s attacks, or allow the champion to regenerate health faster.


QR Code
QR Code league_of_legends (generated for current page)